Home News Namibia Film and Theatre Awards winners: The full list

Namibia Film and Theatre Awards winners: The full list

From 10-year-olds nabbing awards to the late being awarded for their contribution, here are your winners for the 2019 Film and Theatre Awards.

The winners for the fifth Namibia Film and Theatre Awards have all been revealed and amongst them are both new and experienced winners with the youngest to take an award being Camilla Jo-Ann Darles. The biggest names in the Namibian film and theatre industry and, stakeholders and guests including South African Leleti Khumalo flocked to the National Theatre of Namibia where the Afro-futurism themed event took place to award the comrades in the industry.

Noteworthy victors include that of the late N!xau #Toma who was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award in film and theatre for his role in The Gods Must Be Crazy, Banana Shekupe who was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Here is the full list of all the winners in no order:

Lifetime Achievement Award
Hans Struppies Reinhardt

Theatre: Best Overall Play
Every Woman – Senga Brockerhoff

Film: Best Narrative Film

Theatre: Best Director
Senga Brockerhoff – Every Woman

Film: Best Director
Oshoveli Shipoh – Hairareb

Theatre: Best Adapted Play
Fences – Nelago Shilongoh

Theatre: Best MaleActor
Ndinomholo Ndilula
Tales of Roses in Concrete

Film: Best MaleActor
David Ndjavera

Theatre: Best Female Actor
Hazel Hinda
A Raisin in The Sun

Film: Best Female Actor
Camilla Jo-Ann Darles
Baxu & the Giants

Film: Audience Choice Award
The White Line

Lifetime Achievement Award
Banana Shekupe

Theatre: Best Documentary
Tim Huebschle & Haiko Boldt
Another Sunny Day

Theatre: Best Supporting Actor
Jennifer Timbo
Every Woman

Theatre: Best Newcomer Actor
Mikiros Garoes
Black Coffee, White Porridge

Film: Best Student Film
Tapiwa Makaza
NDF Survival Kit

Theatre: Best Newcomer Director
Lloyd Winini
The Nuthouse

Film: Best Newcomer Director
Desiree Kahikopo
The White Line

Film: Best Music Video Director
Andrew Robson
Martyr-Vaughn Ahrens

Film: Best Sound & Music
Christof van Niekerk, Tim Huebschle, Shishani & David Benade
Another Sunny Day

Theatre: Best Musical
Every Woman – Senga Brockerhoff

Film: Best Editor
Robert Scott – Baxu & The Giants

Lifetime Achievement Award (Film & Theatre)
N!xau #Toma | Posthumous

Theatre: Best Set, Stage & Costume
A Raisin in the Sun – Sepiso Mwange

Film: Best Production Design
Tanya Stroh – Baxu & The Giants

Theatre: Best Original Script
The Nuthouse – Lloyd Winini

Film: Best Film Script
Michael Pulse – The White Line

2019 Namibian Theatre and Film Award for Best Corporate Support B2Gold

2019 Namibian Theatre and Film Award for Best Corporate Support O&L

2019 Namibian Theatre and Film Award for Special Recognition Brian Ford


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

Eight more bolster knockout project as countdown begins

    With only three days left to the much-anticipated fight against homelessness, eight more corporate...

Preparations on course for KFW

Pricilla Mukokobi Preparations for the Katutura Fashion Week are progressing well despite the limited number...

Stylist scoops another international nomination

Wilka Kayoko Award winning stylist, Reinhardt Mahalie has been nominated for the Designer Awards Africa...


It was PDK’s night after bagging two awards at the 5th NAMA Premium...

Creating a safe transport haven for women with DJ Khadijah

Wilka Kayoko DJ, model, actress and entrepreneur Khadijah Mouton has launched her female-only taxi business. Dubbed ‘Wheels on Heels’...